Livesinnewyork’s Blog

December 23, 2008

Getting Lost

So, I just finished watching all 4 seasons of LOST in the span of about 2 months. It was an incredible journey. And now I can’t wait for January 21st when the new season will come out. But for now, I’ll have to subsist on Lost websites and blogs. For realz.

Here’s the best I could dig up on  the cast members. Warning: spoliers, of course.

Even though he’s not my favorite, I won’t try to deny that Jack is the main character.  He’s played by Matthew Fox who was on Party of Five, but I never watched that show so it doesn’t matter. He’s 42. Ugh. Okay, not that old, but could be my father. I don’t care. He hasn’t been in much else (like most other people on this show). But he was in Smokin’ Aces, lookin’ like a tool. Which is great. I love when beautiful stars have it in them to do a not-hot role. It shows something nice about them, I think.

I just realized that his tattoos are apparently real, and so I assume had to be written in to the storyline of LOST. This I’m not a big fan of. The tattoos are okay on the show, they make sense. But they’re kind of tacky. I don’t know. I have a tattoo, I’m not knockin’ them, but I guess I feel that his are somewhat lame. Unless they have a badass story to back them up. Maybe that’s the case. I mean, look at this. Great smile. Great body. Seemingly genuine and adorable. But, really, stars on your forearm? Eh.

He’s getting into film, I suppose, since LOST will be done filming within the next two years. He was Racer X in last year’s Speed Racer movie. I didn’t see it because it looked terrible. However, when it came out I had yet to discover Lost. Therefore,

I’ll probably check it out if only to imagine Jack Shephard in a body suit.  Oh, he was also in Vantage point which I also haven’t seen. Is it any good? Eh, I’ll watch it for him anyway. IMDB doesn’t have him in any upcoming roles, but lets hope he’s just been busy with LOST, and that he’ll make his way back to film soon.

While Fox may be a great actor and undeniably hot, I’m a Sawyer girl. I think it’s because I relate to him more than Jack. Or maybe it’s because he’s the bad boy. Or maybe it’s just the dimples. But DAMN, he’s delectable. Really. I hope he’s okay, wherever that stupid island took him. And…looking at all the previews on abc.com for season 5, he has his shirt off for the majority of the season. YES.

He’s played by Josh Holloway who is 39, so a little more doable (for me) than Fox. He’s also happily married and expecting what will be an amazing baby (hot white guy + hot asian chick = beautiful baby). So, that’s unfortunate for me, but life (heart?) will go on.

So, he hasn’t been in that much either, save some CSI and NCIS episodes. (Check out NCIS season 1 episode 12 where he playes…a sherriff!!! hot.) BUT he was the purse-snatcher in Aerosmith’s Cryin video. Who later gets his shit kicked out of him by none other than Alicia Silverstone. I don’t care. I’d let those gorgeous eyes steal my purse. Not really. But if he asked nicely…

He’s in an upcoming film, according to IMDB called Stay Cool which I thought might be a sequel to Be Cool, but doesn’t appear to be so. Rather than inundate you with a million gratuitously sexy photos of him, I’ll send you here.  However…a few notes.

I saw this picture up in a shop in Penn Station. And stopped and stared, of course. I’m not really a fan of the advertising campaign of “the power of cool” but whatever. Josh has to make the moneys. And with that body, what better way? He was a model for a while before moving to California to act.

He says he doesn’t like having to sport long hair for his role as Sawyer. I can see where he’s coming from. I am in love with Sawyer, but I’m not usually a fan of guys with long hair. And how can you deny that he looks just as wonderful with it short?

Probably my favorite thing about Sawyer is that he’s actually really sweet and emotional and likes to read!  How adorable. Isn’t that what every girl wants, anyway? A strong, protective guy who will cuddle with you and a book at the end of the night? Not every girl? Just me? oh, ok. Also, one of the books he read (I think possibly the first after he got his glasses?) was Watership Down, which is a favorite of mine. It’s got nice LOST undertones, too. Anyway, I’ll stop ranting about the love of my life.

On to Kate! AKA Evangeline Lilly. I’ve got to admit that I like her. She’s cute. I just hate Kate’s toying with the boys. Not that she intends to toy, I’m sure, but just that she can’t decide. She really has been in basically nothing other than LOST. She had an uncredited role in Freddy Vs. Jason. So there’s that. Word on the street is she’s a devout Christian, and refused to do a partially nude scene in season 1. However, that doesn’t explain this picture of her in just a bra. I guess that doesn’t qualify as immoral.  She also was in a commercial for LiveLinks. Which is just kind of creepy. But it doesn’t seem like she was having much luck getting roles back then. Good thing Kate came along. I read somewhere that originally Jack was going to die in the first episode and she was supposed to be the main hero of the show. That would’ve been interesting, but much less exciting as far as the Jack-Kate-Sawyer triangle goes. Honestly, I’d rather see her end up with Sawyer ONLY because he loves her. Personally, I don’t think she’s right for either of them. But Sawyer wants it more, or at least shows it more. And anything he wants, I want. Jack should end up with Juliet. End of story.

Anyway, the juciest part of Evangeline’s real life that I can find is that she dated and was engaged to Dominic Monaghan AKA Charlie. This throws my world into a bizzare tailspin of horror. However, they do look pretty cute together in real life. Unfortunately, they broke up. Probably because he’s a hobbit. Okay, that’s not fair. But I really can’t picture him as anything but Merry from Lord of the Rings.

I’ll go a little bit out of order importance-wise and move right in to Charlie. I really didn’t like him at first. Mostly because I could only see him as the hobbit, and I had accidentally watched the finale of season 3 and knew he was going to die. So I guess my subconscious didn’t want to get too invested to begin with. But he won my heart. And while he’s not a heartthrob by any means, he’s sweet and adorable and I cried when he died even though I knew exactly what was going to happen.

Dominic Monaghan is probably most famous for that Lord of the Rings trilogy, but he’s been in some other stuff, too. He’s also only 32, which makes him within my realistic boyfriend material (although he’s right on the edge). He’s been busy, though. He’s in the new X-Men Wolverine movie coming out soon, and in production for two movies, Fortuna and Pet which are both categorized as horror/thrillers.

He apparently tried out for the role of Sawyer originally, but was cast as Charlie instead. He didn’t want to be typecast as anything similar to Merry. But I think it fits him. And that he should stick with the troubled artist role for a while. You can play it different ways. Charlie is that but very funny. You could definitely do a more serious version of it.  And I’ve got to admit, he can be pretty sexy.

Okay, the rest of these are probably going to be fairly short because I’m running low on time (and energy).

Locke: Terry O’Quinn. There’s something about this guy. Maybe it’s just Locke the character. I loooooved him in the first season or two. He’s gone a little crazy since then. But I’m liking him more again after my anger at him earlier in the season. He really is just doing what he thinks needs to be done. Eh. O’Quinn has been in a lot of stuff I like, but mostly very small roles. He had apperances on Law and Order, NCIS, The Twilight Zone, Star Trek, even Roswell. He was also the mayor in Tombstone, and Howard Hughes in The Rocketeer!

He’s 56 and has been married since before I was born. That’s okay, though. I found this quote of him, which I like a lot. “I’ve told the producers that I miss the old John Locke. I wish he hadn’t found those damn buttons sometimes. But these ups and downs reflect everybody’s. You can’t always choose the way things go. That’s life.” I miss the old John, too. Remember when he was creepy/funny, not just crazy? yeah.

Oh, Hurley. Or Hugo. Whatever. Jorge Garcia, really. You can’t not love him, even though he’s made some bad choices throughout the show. Hurley, that is, not Jorge. Jorge has been in a lot, but not much I’ve heard of, and has a pretty good stage career. He had a recurring role on Becker, and will be in a movie called When We Were Pirates, which sounds kind of like a remake of The Goonies to me. He was on one of my faaaavorite gameshows, Russian Roulette! And he apparently sings some for Matthew Fox’s band Lost Souls. Clever title. Word is they’ll perform for one of the new episodes of LOST. Really? Hrm. He apparently was the first person to offically be cast for LOST, and originally tried out for the role of Sawyer. That wouldn’t have made for the best love-triangle, eh? He’s adorable. I just wish he’d cut his hair.

Same goes for this guy, actually, along with his gross fingernails, Sayid, played by Naveen Andrews. I hear a lot of girls are in love with him, too, and rank him up there with Jack and Sawyer. I am not one of these girls. Granted, he’s got a great body and is totally badass. He just doesn’t doo it for me, though. He’s been in a surprising amout of stuff, though, including The English Patient, Might Joe Young, and Planet Terror/Grindhouse. He’s rumored to appear in something called This Side of the Looking Glass, but it doesn’t seem to have anything to do with LOST or the episode titled “Through the Looking Glass.” He’s got a thing for the older ladies, apparently, which does NOT explain him and Shannon. He got his high school math teacher knocked up (after falling in love with her) and is now dating Barbara Hershey who is 21 years older than him.

I say he’s more attractive on the show than in real life. Probably because I like beards.

Back to sexy men…Jin. I wouldn’t have believed I’d say that at the beginning of the series, but he has won my heart entirely and I hope hope hope he somehow made it off that boat before it exploded. Daniel Dae Kim was in a ton of stuff before LOST, but all small roles and mostly just for one episode in the usual, CSI, Star Trek, but also Party of Five (interesting), Charmed, Beverly Hills 90210, among many many others. He’s been doing pretty well acting-wise, but IMDB doesn’t have anything coming up for him soon. He’s married with two kids, who I assume are adorable. I hear he got a DUI a while ago, but I’m going to ignore that because I can’t believe Jin would do that. I love him.

And of course, Sun, played by the GORGEOUS Yunjin Kim. She’s been in basically nothing, at least not in a language I can read. But she is listed as being in a movie called Two Sisters being written and directed by Margaret Cho. I really love Sun on the show, especially once she gains more and more confidence throughout. And her screams when the boat blows up presumably killing Jin…well they just destroyed my tear ducts. But I get the feeling I wouldn’t like her real life persona. She just seems a little…too sexy? I dunno. If I were a suddenly famous hot chick, I’d probably do the same. I can’t really find much else about her. Except that she knows Taekwondo. Which is pretty awesome.

Next, the closest competitor for my heart next to Sawyer, *swoons* Desmond. Now, my roommate already claimed him, but It’s okay to dream…

We’ve already been over my love for beards, so it’s easy to see why Henry Ian Cusick (but he goes by Ian) is so wonderful. Throw in that Scottish accent and I’m sold. He hasn’t done much other than LOST, except he did play Jesus in The Visual Bible: The Gospel of John.

He lived with and had three kids with a woman named Annie Wood before they got married. Annie…Penny…coincidence? I think not.

Desmond is, by far, my favorite backstory. Not only is there a great love story in there, he’s been through a lot, mostly for said love story. The fact that he’s not one of the crash victims doesn’t really matter to me. And his episodes always have a little more umph to them. I mean, everyone loves The Constant. How could you not? Oh and that smile! He’s in a new movie called Dead Like Me: Life After Death, which sounds pretty cool.

I’ve really got to give it a rest for now. This has taken me pretty much all day to put together. I’ll do my best to get to the rest of the characters sometime soon.

In the meantime, check out ABC’s trailers for Season 5. I especially like the clip of creator Damon Lindelof in which he discusses the heiroglyphics used in the show. Then his quote “Who knows how far it goes back?…I do.” ha. Love it. And can’t wait to find out!

And…I’m sorry…but my roommate just sent me this:

I. am.in.love.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

