Livesinnewyork’s Blog

December 29, 2008

Amtrak vs. Chinatown Bus

Filed under: NYC — Tags: , , , — livesinnewyork @ 4:46 pm

My family being from Wilmington, DE, and me no longer having enough use for a car, I’ve been experimenting with public transportation.
It’s not a very long trip to Wilmington. Two hours on a good day. So far I’ve tried two methods: The Chinatown Bus and an Amtrak train.

Here are some of the observations I’ve made:

SEATING

Amtrak vs. Chinatown

Amtrak wins on seating. There’s more space, and even fold-down tables like on airplanes. I’ll give the Chinatown bus some credit, though, I’ve never seen this poorly-photoshopped face guy on my bus.

STATION

Amtrak vs. Chinatown

Penn Station can get crowded, but it’s clean, large, and heated. The bus that  I take (which doesn’t ONLY stop in Chinatown, surprisingly) picks me up at Macy’s on 34th and Broadway. While not a terrible area of town, it’s not warm. And you have to stand on the sidewalk ready to leap into the door to make sure you get a seat. Seriously. Last time I came back to NY on the bus a guy had to sit on a stool in the aisle because there were no seats left.

PASSENGERS

Amtrak vs. Chinatown

A clear winner here, Amtrak generally transports guys (and gals) in suits, or people on long trips with luggage. On my last trip to Delaware a man boarded in Trenton, sat next to me and played brickbreaker on his Blackberry until he got off in Philadelphia. I read my book. We didn’t even look at eachother. Wonderful. On my last trip to New York on the Chinatown bus I was the last person who didn’t have to sit in the ailse to board the bus. This meant I got to sit next to an obnoxios guy  drinking out of a paper bag (smelled like vodka, could have been rum…not sure) and talked on his phone to a girl he wanted to be his wifey. As I got off of the bus he grabbed my leg, told me “you special” and asked me to marry him. Sadly, I was proposed to last week by a Mexican cook named Nacho, and while I didn’t say yes, I didn’t say no.  Point: Amtrak.

PRICE

Amtrak vs. Chinatown

$52-$134   /   $20

Unfortunately for me, Chinatown wins.

1 Comment »

  1. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than
    just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and all.
    But think about if you added some great images or videos
    to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and clips, this website could undeniably be one of the greatest in its niche.
    Wonderful blog!

    Comment by http://www.corollacarclub.com/forum/member.php?u=110399 — May 14, 2013 @ 5:53 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

